University of Calgary
UofC Navigation



Strategic Advisory Board (SAB)

This Board defines and guides the vision, strategy and expectations of the Institute so that its full potential is realized. The Board is accountable for:

  • Promoting partnerships that enhance the potential for the Institute’s success
  • Alignment and effective working relationships with the Alberta Health Services (AHS) and the University of Calgary (UofC) that lead to shared success
  • The success of the Institute’s Director 
  • The community reflecting pride and confidence in the Institute
  • Ensuring the evaluation of programs such that they meet the highest international standards

The Strategic Advisory Board members:

  • Marilyn McCaig - Chair of SAB, appointed by Alberta Health Services-Calgary Zone/UofC
  • Gerald Zamponi - Appointee of the University of Calgary Faculty of Medicine
  • Kit Johnson - Appointee of AHS
  • Dianne Mosher - Division Chief of Orthopaedics or Division Chief of Rheumatology
  • Nicholas Mohtadi - Member appointed by the AHS and the UofC
  • Ian Robinson - Chair of Alberta Bone Joint and Joint Health Institute
  • Dianna Mulherin - Member of the Community Partner Advisory Committee
  • Terry Owen - Community Representative 
  • Kawal Sandhu - Community Business leader
  • Steven Boyd - McCaig Institute Director (as a non-voting member)
  • Terri May - Ex-Officio member  

Executive Council

  • Steven Boyd, Chair
  • Cheryl Barnabe
  • Danielle Whittier (TLC Rep.)
  • David Hart
  • Kevin Hildebrand
  • Marilyn McCaig
  • Derrick Rancourt
  • Brent Edwards
  • Terri May

Research Committee

  • Kevin Hildebrand, Chair
  • Steven Boyd, Co-Chair
  • Deborah Marshall
  • David Hart
  • Yves Pauchard
  • Benedikt Hallgrimsson
  • Roman Krawetz
  • Dianne Mosher
  • Campbell Rolian
  • Paul Salo

Education, Training and Mentorship Committee

  • Derrick Rancourt, Chair
  • Roman Krawetz
  • John Bertram
  • Heather Jamniczky
  • Heinrike Schmelling
  • John Matyas
  • Bryce Besler, (TLC Rep.)

Trainee Leadership Committee (TLC)

  • Danielle Whittier, Trainee Co-Chair
  • Terri May, Co-Chair
  • Bryce Besler, Education Committee