Strategic Advisory Board (SAB)

This Board defines and guides the vision, strategy and expectations of the institute so that its full potential is realized. The Board is accountable for:

  • Promoting partnerships that enhance the potential for the institute’s success
  • Alignment and effective working relationships with the Alberta Health Services (AHS) and the University of Calgary (UofC) that lead to shared success
  • The success of the institute’s director 
  • The community reflecting pride and confidence in the institute
  • Ensuring the evaluation of programs such that they meet the highest international standards

The Strategic Advisory Board members:

  • Marilyn McCaig - Chair of SAB, appointed by Alberta Health Services-Calgary Zone/UofC
  • Gerald Zamponi - Appointee of the University of Calgary Faculty of Medicine
  • Tracy Wasylak - Appointee of AHS
  • Paul MacMullan - Division Chief of Orthopaedics or Division Chief of Rheumatology
  • Nicholas Mohtadi - Member appointed by the AHS and the UofC
  • Ian Robinson - Representing the Chair of the Alberta Bone Joint and Joint Health Institute
  • Diana Mulherin - Member of the Community Partner Advisory Committee
  • Terry Owen - Community Representative 
  • Steven Boyd - McCaig Institute Director (as a non-voting member)
  • Terri May- Ex-Officio member  


Executive Council

  • Steven Boyd, Chair
  • Cheryl Barnabe
  • MTC Rep.
  • David Hart
  • Kevin Hildebrand
  • Marilyn McCaig
  • Roman Krawetz
  • Paul Salo
  • Brent Edwards
  • Terri May 


Research Committee

  • Paul Salo, Chair
  • Steven Boyd
  • Deborah Marshall
  • David Hart
  • Kevin Hildebrand
  • Benedikt Hallgrimsson
  • Roman Krawetz
  • Glen Hazlewood
  • John Matyas


HQP Committee

  • Kent Paulson, Chair
  • Lauren Burt
  • Dragana Ponjevic
  • Daniel Young
  • Carolina Salazar
  • Gillian Currie


McCaig Education Committee

  • Roman Krawetz, Chair
  • Sarah Manske
  • Antoine Dufour
  • Claire Barber
  • Ranita Manocha
  • John Matyas
  • MTC Rep.
  • HQP Rep.


McCaig Trainee Committee (MTC)

  • Alex Olsen, Trainee Co-Chair 
  • Sophia Shah, Trainee Co-Chair 
  • Karys Hildebrand, Education Committee Rep.
  • Eva Zaffarini, Communications & Events Rep.
  • Sukhjit Sidhu, Events Rep.
  • Kali Heale, Seminar Series Rep.
  • Luiz de Almeida, Seminar Series Rep.
  • Michael Kuczynski, Seminar Series Rep
  • Marta Vidal-Garcia, Postdoctoral Fellow Rep.